South Korea Government





Foreign Relations
Administrative Division
Geography and Climate
International Rankings
External Links


South Korea Government

The Republic of Korea, commonly known as South Korea or the Korea Republic is an East Asian country on the southern half of the Korean Peninsula. To the north, it is bordered by North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), with which it was united until 1945. To the west, across the Yellow Sea, lies China and to the southeast, across the Korea Strait, lies Japan. Approximately one-half
of South Korea's population lives in or near the capital Seoul, the second most populous metropolitan area in the world.

Korea traces its founding to 2333 BC by the legendary Dangun. Since the establishment of the modern republic in 1948, South Korea struggled with the aftermath of Japanese occupation (1910-1945), the Korean War (1950-1953), and decades of authoritarian governments, undergoing five major constitutional changes. While the government officially embraced Western-style democracy from its founding, presidential elections suffered from rampant irregularities. It was not until 1987 that direct and fair presidential elections were held, largely prompted by popular demonstrations. South Korea has been a vibrant multi-party democracy for two decades.

The South Korean economy has advanced rapidly since the 1950s and is now the 12th largest (nominal value) economy in the world. South Korea is also one of the world's most technologically advanced and digitally-connected countries; it has the third most broadband Internet users among the OECD countries and is a global leader in electronics, digital displays, semiconductor devices, and mobile phones. South Korea also leads the world in the shipbuilding industry, headed by prominent companies like the Chosun Heavy Industries Co. Ltd.